Campagnes-éclair

2017 BSC BIOBLITZ

This year, the 2017 BSC Bioblitz has been scheduled for July 27-31 in the two main blocks of Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park in Saskatchewan and Alberta.  More information regarding the sampling sites, vehicles, camping and other accommodation options will be circulated shortly.

This year, the BSC event has paired up with Bioblitz Canada 150 for a period of 24 hours. http://bioblitzcanada.ca/events_science-cypress.aspx 

Participants to this portion of the program will be asked to produce a list of taxa collected during those 24 hours at a level of taxonomic resolution to be determined based on the sampled taxa.

For additional information about this event, please contact Cory Sheffield cory.sheffield@gov.sk.ca


Canada's BioBlitz 2016:
Carmacks, Yukon. June 24-26, 2016

In addition to the document linked above, more information regarding the 2016 BioBlitz at Carmacks, Yukon can be found here: http://www.inaturalist.ca/projects/carmacks-bioblitz

Les campagnes-éclair de la CBC ont débuté en 2001 sous l’impulsion du sous-comité sur les Arthropodes des prairies canadiennes; elles ne portaient pas à l’époque leur nom anglais actuel de « Bioblitz ». Il s’agissait d’excursions organisées dans diverses écozones des Prairies pour les entomologistes intéressés aux insectes et autres arthropodes de cette région. L’objectif principal à long terme de ces campagnes était de produire des collections d’arthropodes correspondant à certains habitats choisis des Prairies afin d’apprendre à mieux en connaître l’entomofaune. On espérait également que les participants profiteraient de l’occasion pour partager leurs informations et observations sur les divers groupes taxonomiques, ainsi que sur leurs stratégies et techniques d’études sur le terrain.

La campagne organisée à Aweme (Manitoba) en 2004 a été la première à porter le nom de « BioBlitz ». Elle a attiré des biologistes qui s’intéressaient également à la collecte d’autres types d’organismes — mollusques, plantes et lichens. Toutefois, les campagnes subséquentes ont continué de mettre l’accent sur les arthropodes.

En 2005, on a élargi la portée de la campagne-éclair pour accueillir également des participants du Projet sur les arthropodes forestiers. Cette campagne a été organisée dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton, une zone de prairies et de forêts englobant les contreforts des Rocheuses, la forêt-parc et les régions subalpine et alpine.

Les campagnes-éclair annuelles de la CBC ne sont plus axées sur des thèmes particuliers. Le choix de la destination répond désormais à des critères plus généraux et vise à accroître les connaissances scientifiques sur les arthropodes de la région choisie. Pour en savoir plus sur les campagnes-éclair antérieures, consulter la liste ci-dessous :

Année Emplacement/Rapport
2001 Onefour, Alberta
2002 Réserve de la prairie à herbes hautes, sud-est du Manitoba : 
Cette excursion a dû être annulée à cause de pluies abondantes et d’une inondation.
2003 Prairies de Peace River, Alberta
2004 Aweme, Manitoba
2005 Parc national des Lacs-Waterton, Alberta
Flash : Le permis d’organisation d’une campagne-éclair pour un projet intitulé « Étude de la biodiversité des arthropodes terrestres du Parc national des Lacs- Waterton » a été renouvelé et restera valide jusqu’en 2011. Les personnes qui souhaitent collecter des spécimens en vertu de ce permis sont priées de contacter Dave Langor pour obtenir de plus amples informations.
2006 Parc national du Gros-Morne, Terre-Neuve
Flash : Le permis d’organisation d’une campagne-éclair pour un projet intitulé « Relevés biologiques dans le Parc national du Gros-Morne » a été renouvelé et restera valide pendant plusieurs années. Les personnes qui souhaitent collecter des spécimens en vertu de ce permis sont priées de contacter Dave Langor pour obtenir de plus amples informations.
2007 Parc national du Mont-Riding, Manitoba
2008 Parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce, Ontario
2015 Peace Region, British Columbia
2016 Carmacks, Yukon

Séance-éclair de conservation

C’est le 1er octobre 2007, à l’occasion de la réunion annuelle conjointe de la Société d’entomologie du Canada et de la Entomological Society of Saskatchewan, qu’on a pour la première fois eu l’idée d’organiser une séance-éclair de conservation afin d’encourager les membres de la communauté des entomologistes à participer ensemble à l’évaluation et à l’identification des spécimens d’une collection en cours d’élaboration .

Année Emplacement/Rapport
2007 Saskatchewan, SK (University of Saskatchewan)
2008 Gatineau, QC (Musée canadien de la nature)
2009 Winnipeg, MB (J.B. Wallis Museum of Entomology)

Mise à jour 8 jun 2017

BioBlitzes

Canada's BioBlitz 2016:
Carmacks, Yukon. June 24-26, 2016

In addition to the document linked above, more information regarding the 2016 BioBlitz at Carmacks, Yukon can be found here: http://www.inaturalist.ca/projects/carmacks-bioblitz

The BSC BioBlitzes began in 2001 as an initiative of the Arthropods of Canadian Grasslands subcommittee, although they were not called BioBlitzes at that time. It was envisaged that a series of field excursions to different prairie ecozones would be made by entomologists with interests in prairie insects and related arthropods. The main, long-term goal of these gatherings was to generate collections of arthropods in selected prairie habitats to help to document the fauna. It was also hoped that participants would exchange and share information and observations about various taxonomic groups, field tactics and techniques.

In 2004, the gathering in Aweme, Manitoba was dubbed a BioBlitz and included biologists collecting other organisms such as molluscs, plants and lichens. However, subsequent BioBlitzes have continued to focus on arthropods.

In 2005, the BioBlitz expanded its scope to include participants in the Forest Arthropods project. It was held in Waterton Lakes National Park, an area that includes both prairie and forest habitats, encompassing foothills, parkland, montane, subalpine and alpine regions.

The annual BSC BioBlitz is no longer exclusively associated with a specific project of the Survey but the location is now chosen in a more general framework to help increase the scientific knowledge of the arthropods of an area.

Reports from each of the annual BioBlitzes are available in pdf format from the links below:

Year Location/Report
2001 Onefour, Alberta
2002 Tallgrass Prairie Preserve, southeastern Manitoba:
Heavy rainfall and flooding forced cancellation of the field trip.
2003 Peace River grasslands, Alberta
2004 Aweme, Manitoba
2005 Waterton Lakes, National Park, Alberta
Update: The BioBlitz permit for a project titled: Biodiversity survey of terrestrial arthropods of Waterton Lakes National Park was recently renewed and is valid until 2011. Please contact Dave Langor for details if you wish to collect under this permit.
2006 Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
Update: The BioBlitz permit for a project titled: Biological survey of Gros Morne National Park has been renewed and it is valid for several more years. Please contact Dave Langor for details if you wish to collect under this permit.
2007 Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba
2008 Bruce Peninsula National Park
2015 Peace Region, British Columbia
2016 Carmacks, Yukon

Curation BioBlitz

The idea of Collection Bioblitzes to encourage members of the entomological community to gather at an under-curated collection and assess and identify the material began in 2007 with the first Curation Bioblitz during the joint annual meeting of the Entomological Society of Canada and the Entomological Society of Saskatchewan. Click on the name of the city for a report.

Year Location/Report
2007 Saskatchewan, SK (University of Saskatchewan)
2008 Gatineau, QC (Canadian Museum of Nature)
2009 Winnipeg, MB (J.B. Wallis Museum of Entomology)

Page updated on Jul 8, 2016